South Florida Accident Awareness Blog
In an effort to promote awareness and keep people in our community safer, our news blog provides visitors with current information on local accidents, medical malpractice, product recalls and other Florida law.
The saying is a picture is worth a thousand words. If you have a camera or cell phone with picture capability, please go ahead and take photos of not only the dangerous condition but the surrounding areas...read more
The first thing you should do is notify the owner or the manager that they have a dangerous condition to give them an opportunity to correct it. The second thing you should do is gather evidence. If you...read more
I fell at a Florida business and the manager wants me to fill out some paperwork known as an incident report. What should I do?
If you're asked to fill out an accident or incident report, go ahead and do so. It's important that you give them your contact information so they could have their claims department reach out and give you a...read more
No, an accident report does not have to be filled out at the time of the fall for you to bring a claim. I would prefer that you contact management and notify them that you were injured on their property so...read more
In a Florida slip and fall case, the plaintiff has to prove everything. The defense does not have to do anything. It's important to present as much evidence as possible to a jury in your favor. Witness...read more
A product is considered defective, it is not fit for the purpose for which it was intended. For example, a knife, if it cuts your finger off, is doing what a knife is supposed to do. However, a pair of...read more
Non-economic damages are the damages that people suffer that are harder to quantify. Not things like a particular medical bill but softer things like pain and suffering, mental anguish, loss of consortium...read more
Economic damages are things that generally have a price tag attached to them. Things like past and future medical bills, past and future lost wages, loss of use of the vehicle, property damage, things that...read more
PIP coverage or Florida no-fault coverage generally applies to your own insurance. It's not the person who hits you, it would be your own insurance paying out the PIP. However, there's numerous exceptions...read more
What's commonly referred to as UM or are uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage is a type of insurance you can purchase to protect yourself from other people injuring you. In the state of Florida, it's...read more
If my insurance company sends a request for me to do an examination under oath, do I have to attend?
It's likely that your insurance contract obligates you to participate in the investigation of the claim. That being said, if you are going to be examined under oath, it's important that you have an attorney...read more
Florida PIP law is very specific on the window of time you have to seek initial treatment. You need to see a doctor in the first 14 days or a medical professional. It's important to know that some medical...read more
In Florida, PIP is generally $10,000 of insurance for the person who has the PIP benefits, regardless of who is at fault in a crash. If someone dies as a result of a crash, PIP benefits payout $5,000 for...read more
No, they do not. Motorcycles are one of the exceptions for PIP coverage in the state of Florida. If you're injured while on a motorcycle, it's very important you talk to an attorney about what types of...read more
You should never pay your personal injury attorney out of your own pocket while the case is ongoing. You may have to pay your doctor or pay your insurance copays for your treatment, but while the case is...read more
Request A Free Case Evaluation