Florida Personal Injury Lawyer
Too often an “accident” is actually someone’s fault. Innocent victims of other people’s carelessness or recklessness can find themselves left with serious and costly personal injuries and other losses. In the worst cases, families lose a loved one in a wrongful death.
When someone suffers pain and loss because of another person’s negligence, the victim should be compensated for the costs and pain they have suffered through no fault of their own.
The Florida personal injury lawyers of Philip DeBerard, Injury Attorney, help people who have been hurt through no fault of their own. We can help you recover compensation so you can pay medical bills and other expenses and get on with your life. Call us now at 1-800-299-8878 to speak with a compassionate personal injury attorney or fill out our online contact form.
Accidents and Injuries in Florida
Emergency rooms across the U.S. see 29.5 million people every year because of “unintentional injuries,” according to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). More than 120,850 people died from accidents in 2010, including 33,600 who died in motor vehicle accidents and 26,000 who died in falls, the CDC says.
In Florida, injuries (including intentional injury from assault or self-inflicted harm) are the No. 1 cause of fatalities for those ages 1 to 44 and the third-leading cause of death overall after heart disease and cancer, according to the Florida Department of Health.
In 2011, injuries claimed 12,364 lives in Florida and accounted for 7.2 percent of all Florida residents’ deaths. In 2010, Florida’s injury death rates for all unintentional injuries were higher than the national average by 13.5 percent.
Florida Law Protects Personal Injury Victims
When you are injured or a loved one dies because of another person’s actions, it’s not merely an accident. You have a right to seek justice and funds that will pay for your losses.
Under Florida law, a person or company that negligently or intentionally harms you or damages something that belongs to you may be held liable for the harm you have suffered.
A tort, or a compensable personal injury, has occurred if:
- There was a legal duty that the at-fault party owed the person who was injured;
- There was a breach of that duty; and
- Damage (injury) occurred because of that breach.
Personal injury claims might apply to motor vehicle accidents, including:
- Car accidents
- Motorcycle accidents
- Boating accidents
- Truck accidents
- Bicycle accidents
- Slip-and-fall accidents (premises liability)
- Defective products (product liability)
- Medical malpractice
These accidents can result in any number of injuries, including but not limited to:
- Traumatic brain injury (TBI)
- Neck Injury
- Spinal Cord Injury (SCI)
- Loss of Limbs (amputation)
- Fracture Injury (broken bones)
- Soft-Tissue Injury
- Lacerations (cuts)
- Contusions (bruises).
Recovery from personal injury can be lengthy and costly. Medical bills can pile up while, at the same time, a person is unable to return to work. Unfortunately, some people may never be able to return to their job.
Get Help from an Experienced Florida Personal Injury Attorney
Florida law generally allows four years from the date of injury to file most personal injury lawsuits. However, in some cases, the statute of limitations may be as brief as two years. That’s why it is important to act without delay in order to protect your rights to compensation.
Contact Philip DeBerard, Injury Attorney. Since 1975, our firm has helped personal injury victims throughout South Florida and the Treasure Coast to recover the compensation they deserve. We have offices in Stuart, Port St. Lucie, Vero Beach, Okeechobee, Palm Beach Gardens and West Palm Beach. If you’ve been hurt, we’ll be on your side. We’re ready to fight for justice for you.
Call us today at 1-800-299-8878 or complete our online form. We can provide a free and confidential evaluation of your case.
Request A Free Case Evaluation