Free Consultation
Tap To Call Tap To Text
Consulta Gratis
Llamar Texto

Looking to buy a new car for Model Year 2013? Be sure and check its 5-Star Safety Rating.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has released a  list of all Model Year 2013 vehicles that will be tested as part of its beefed-up 5-Star Safety Rating Program.

Each year, NHTSA tests vehicles with the highest sales volumes and compares them, using star ratings, to highlight which vehicles go above and beyond what is federally required.

Under the updated ratings program – More Stars. Safer Cars. – one star represents the lowest score and five stars represents the highest. Starting with model year 2011, the agency revised its program by adding an overall rating, improved crash test dummies that include dummies of small-statured females, and an innovative pole test to assess side crashes.

The program urges automakers to improve crash protection, and to develop even safer vehicles in order to achieve a coveted government rating of 5 stars for safety. The program also emphasizes advanced safety features, such as forward collision warning and lane departure warning systems, which manufacturers are voluntarily installing in vehicles to further help prevent crashes.

The program recently received international acclaim, with NHTSA earning a Global NCAP Safety Award in May 2012 for establishing the world’s first consumer-driven auto safety ratings program in 1978.

The tested cars represent 85 percent of all MY 2013 vehicles sold in the U.S. The vehicles will be subjected to crash tests and rollover tests. As they are tested, the results will be posted online.

The makes and models of tested vehicles are as follows:

Passenger Cars

  • Acura ILX
  • Audi A4
  • Buick Verano
  • Cadillac ATS
  • Cadillac XTS
  • Chevrolet Malibu
  • Dodge Challenger
  • Dodge Dart
  • Fiat 500
  • Ford CMAX Energi
  • Ford CMAX HEV
  • Ford Focus
  • Ford Focus BEV
  • Ford Fusion
  • Ford Fusion Energi
  • Ford Taurus
  • Honda Accord
  • Honda Civic
  • Infiniti M37
  • Lexus ES350
  • Lexus IS250
  • Mercedes-Benz C-Class
  • Nissan Altima
  • Nissan Leaf
  • Nissan Sentra
  • Subaru Impreza
  • Subaru Legacy
  • Toyota Avalon
  • Toyota Prius C
  • Toyota Prius v
  • Volkswagen Beetle

SUV and Vans

  • BMW X5
  • Chevrolet Traverse
  • Ford Escape
  • Ford Explorer
  • Hyundai Santa Fe Sport
  • Jeep Compass
  • Jeep Patriot
  • Lexus RX350
  • Mazda CX-5
  • Mazda CX-9
  • Mercedes-Benz ML-Class
  • Nissan Pathfinder
  • Subaru Outback
  • Toyota RAV4
  • Toyota Sienna
  • Toyota Venza
  • Volkswagen Tuguan

Pickup Trucks

  • Chevrolet Silverado 2500
  • Ram 1500
  • Ram 1500 Quad Cab
  • Toyota Tacoma

Contact A Treasure Coast Car Accident Lawyer

If you or a family member has been hurt in a car, motorcycle, truck, boating or other accident, we want to help. Call 888-649-6095 to speak with a Florida personal injury lawyer at Philip DeBerard, Injury Attorney, today. Or use this online form. We will give you a free and confidential case evaluation.


Safer car program

US DOT National Highway Traffic Safety Administration