Hit-and-Run Accident in Port St. Lucie is Cause to Examine Personal Auto Insurance Policy

Jan 26, 2012 Posted by in Motor Vehicle Accidents and Safety

One of the most important protections for Florida motorists in the case of a car accident is their insurance policy. Our South Florida car accident attorneys have previously reported, however, that a growing number of Florida drivers are uninsured. Just this week, a hit-and-run driver in Port St. Lucie seriously injured a woman in an accident. In a case such as this, the victim is responsible for her own medical care costs and vehicle repair costs, as it is the same as being struck by an uninsured motorist.

According to a news report, the woman is now in the intensive care unit at the local hospital with a brain injury. Recovery from a brain injury can be a long, arduous process – and it can be costly. In fact, according to an estimate by the National Foundation for Brain Research, the cost per traumatic brain injury survivor for medical and non-medical (e.g., home modifications, vocational rehabilitation, health insurance) averages $151,587.

In the case of a hit-and-run accident, and since many Florida drivers do not have adequate bodily injury liability insurance, it is critical that you have appropriate uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to provide coverage for your medical expenses.

In Florida, the purchase of minimum insurance is required, which is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability. The personal injury protection covers people in your household involved in the crash.

Florida is one of the few states that do not require motorists to carry liability insurance to cover bodily injuries. Bodily injury liability insurance pays for serious injuries or death to others, when you are at fault in a car crash.

If you are in an accident with a hit-and-run driver or with an uninsured driver you will have to rely on your insurance coverage for the compensation needed to cover your medical expenses. You may have to file a first-party claim under your own insurance policy to compensate you for your injuries and your loss of enjoyment of life if the other driver is uninsured or underinsured.

In a study released by the Insurance Research Council, insurance claims for auto accidents are on the rise. In just two years (2008-2010), the average PIP or personal injury protection claim cost per insured vehicle in the state of Florida jumped 62 percent.

The insurance laws in Florida are complicated, and there are safeguards in place to protect those with insurance. However, your insurance company may not be on your side, and dealing with insurance companies can be difficult. Using an experienced Treasure Coast car accident attorney may improve your chances of securing the compensation you need to recover from your accident injuries.

Contact an Experienced Florida Car Accident Lawyer

The Florida law firm of Philip DeBerard, Injury Attorney, represents victims of car accidents and automobile crashes in Port St. Lucie, Fort Pierce, Jupiter, Stuart, Okeechobee, Vero Beach and Palm Beach.

If character traits such as dedication, integrity and compassion are what you seek in an accident lawyer, call Philip DeBerard. Choosing the right accident lawyer does make a difference.

Call 1-800-299-8878 to speak with a knowledgeable Florida car accident attorney or fill out our online contact form.

PI Review

Read our latest newsletter to keep abreast of our firm’s promotions and activities. You'll also find practical legal tips you can use in your everyday life.

READ OUR NEWSLETTER

NEED HELP? CALL NOW

1-800-299-8878

(Any information shared will be kept confidential)